REVIEWS FOR HOW I BECAME A TEENAGE SURVIVALIST

 

ABNA Expert Reviewer

What is the strongest aspect of this excerpt?

Bracken is a most appealing narrator. The author has provided great insights into his character--his teenaged boy's reaction to Silky's short sweater, his resentment of his brother Alex--and leavens the seriousness of his predicament with a bit of humor. 

 

I particularly like that the author set this story on a Midwest farm. Post-apocalyptic cities have been done to death and IMO, a rural community has much more story potential in the circumstances than endless garbage piling up on city streets.

What aspect needs the most work?

This excerpt is very strong as it stands. 

 

Sometimes this type of story can get tedious and depressing, but this author seems to have given Bracken a lightness of tone that promises a fresh and down to earth perspective on appalling circumstances.

What is your overall opinion of this excerpt?

This is a very good beginning to a post-apocalyptic tale. The hero/narrator has a fresh, appealing voice, and the author allows the reader to discover the parameters of his predicament along with him. This reader looks forward to his further experiences.

 

 

ABNA Expert Reviewer

What is the strongest aspect of this excerpt?

The strongest part of this excerpt are the interesting twists on a semi-familiar "doomsday" scenario. It also helps that the main character is dynamic and can carry the story from the beginning.

What aspect needs the most work?

The aspect that needs the most work in this excerpt would be the dialogue between the characters. In some scenarios it seems slightly stilted and forced.

What is your overall opinion of this excerpt?

Overall this is a very interesting twist on the "doomsday" scenario. There are dynamic characters and the writing is very successful in sounding like a teenage boy. It is a story that pulls you in and makes you want to read more.

 

 

ABNA Publishers Weekly Reviewer

In November 2012, the Midwest is hit with a solar superstorm, and 15-year-old Bracken and his family must figure out how to survive without electricity. “There are no phones, no TV, no video games, no lights to read by at night, not to mention no refrigeration, no microwave, and no cars after the gas ran out.” The story builds and is engrossing, and the situations are realistic. However, when the power comes back on in May 2013, there is a shift in the pacing of the story. For the next 10 pages there is an attempt to show how returning to normal is hard and life is not nearly as engaging with electricity -- but this seems rushed as another solar superstorm hits a few pages later. The families are more prepared this time and the point is driven home that a simple life of self-reliance is better and more fulfilling. The appeal of this story is its simplicity and pacing. The simple, matter-of-fact tone of the story has merit, but it could use a stronger sense of consistency.

 

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Very Enjoyable, April 12, 2012

By 

SG3rddantkd - See all my reviews

 

This review is from: How I Became a Teenage Survivalist - 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

This grabbed me right from the start. I always read the first couple of pages whenever I look for a book to read and this one certainly caught my attention. It is certainly thought provoking and extremely entertaining. Loved it!!

 

 

4.0 out of 5 stars

a bit Day After Tomorrow, March 31, 2012

By 

Mr. P. Reid "Flick" (UK) - See all my reviews

(REAL NAME)

  

This review is from: How I Became a Teenage Survivalist - 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

Maybe not the climate change in the film, but very like that in that it is life after the Apocalypse of the solar flares. Apparently we do indeed get these from time to time and they could (possibly) do just this. I would be intrigued to know whether this power outage has affected both sides of the world, and if the one facing away from the sun is just as bad.

I like you having a teenage protagonist. There isn't a lot of dialogue to go on so far, as a large part of this first bit involves him remembering how it came about. This could be said to be tell not show, but you manage very well to keep what could be a boring info dump interesting and engaging. Maybe a little long winded in places, but a nice tight edit will make it snappier for sure.

In this day and age, something we should all be aware might well happen! I imagine things are going to go on getting worse. How gritty are you going to let it get? Will anarchy reign? Or will the plucky survivors triumph?

Will our hero show himself a true hero?

I would like to find out what happens here. A book that should appeal to boys (which makes a nice change from all those ones about teenage girls). I think my son might like to read this in a couple of years time.

 

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Really thought provoking, March 28, 2012

By 

TGirl2003 - See all my reviews

 

Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)

This review is from: How I Became a Teenage Survivalist - 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

This book makes you think about what could happen if something like this could happen. It really makes you think we should all start thinking about what we can do to be prepared in case a solar storm happened here and now.

 

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Perfect for my students!, March 28, 2012

By 

Jhteacher - See all my reviews

 

This review is from: How I Became a Teenage Survivalist - 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

I am so excited to read this novel! I am sure it will be perfect for my junior high student readers. Not only is there a teenage boy protagonist, but the event is actually something that could really happen! It's a fresh and timely turn on the post-apocolyptic novel. My students devour books like this, and in my professional opinion there aren't enough out there to engage these boys (and girls). The protagonist is so real, and his thoughts will really strike a chord with my teens. I could even see myself using this in my classes as a teaching tool.

 

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

So exciting!!!!, March 26, 2012

By 

Triciahsmom816 - See all my reviews

 

This review is from: How I Became a Teenage Survivalist - 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

I cannot wait to read this book! I have never read a book about this kind of topic for young adults. Thank you author for writing a book that is new and imaginitive,yet a could happen topic. This isnt some vampire book done in 50 differnt ways. This is a new exciting idea!

 

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Can't wait for my sons to read it!, March 25, 2012

By 

DenverMom - See all my reviews

 

This review is from: How I Became a Teenage Survivalist - 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

Julie Casey does an awesome job capturing the thoughts of a teenage boy. She keeps it in line with the readers she is pursuing by making it relevant. I do not allow my children to read much in the way of new fiction and insist on them reading things that will inspire and encourage them to be better people. I am very happy with "Teenage Survivalist" in that it is something I want my boys to read. I believe it will inspire them to become more self-sufficient. It is also very timely since many, many people are worried that our society will not be able to continue on its current course. We all need to understand how to live in survivalist mode if the need arises. Thank you, Julie, and keep writing!!

 

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Life with a twist....., March 25, 2012

By 

hpmom17 - See all my reviews

 

This review is from: How I Became a Teenage Survivalist - 2012 ABNA Entry (Kindle Edition)

I spend a lot of time reading, books for myself and books with my children. So much of what I have read recently is based on the super natural, or things that could never happen. This book is such a wonderful change of pace! There are natural disasters occurring every day and you never know what the outcome may be. This book shows you how families and neighbors can pull together in crisis and make it through with some hard work and imagination. The main character, Bracken, is so down to earth and just a typical teenage boy who finds out that life can be so much more than modern conveniences and electronics. This is definitely something that I will encourage my children to read.

 

Make a free website with Yola